The City of Murray, Kentucky

Planning & Engineering

Home > Planning & Engineering

Planning & Engineering

The Planning and Engineering Department is directed by David Roberts. The department works with area developers, land owners, citizens, and business owners to facilitate the overall progress of new construction developments as well as maintain the current infrastructure.

Planning staff also support the Planning Commission and the Board of Zoning Adjustments. A comprehensive land use plan for the City of Murray was completed in September of 2009 which lays out a long-term plan for growth in our community.

A Zoning Ordinance is in place which lays out the regulations for each of the Zoning Districts within the City of Murray. Subdivision regulations lay out the guidelines for requirements in developing a subdivision. See our forms area for quick access to commonly submitted forms and frequently requested publications.

City of Murray Planning Department Mission Statement

Plan for growth while preserving community values and increasing our environmental, economic and social sustainability.

The purpose of the City of Murray Planning Department is to apply best practices to:

  1. Ensure efficient land use, development and growth management,
  2. Ensure compliance with city policies and standards and
  3. Provide the citizens and residents of Murray and Calloway County with information and responsive customer service.

Division of Water - City of Murray Stormwater MS4 Inspection Report

Links:

American Planning Association
Kentucky Chapter, American Planning Association
Kentucky Transportation Cabinet Division of Planning
Murray Board of Zoning Adjustments
Murray Planning Commission

Contact:

Phone: (270) 762-0300
FAX: (270) 762-0331

Staff Member Position Telephone/Ext. Email Address
Travis Brown Project Manager 270-762-0350 ext. 1134 travis.brown@murrayky.gov
Dannetta Clayton GIS Technician 270-762-0350 ext. 1122 dannetta.clayton@murrayky.gov
Candace Dowdy City Planner 270-762-0350 ext. 1128 candace.dowdy@murrayky.gov
Chris Edwards Engineering Assistant/Gas 270-762-0350 ext. 1124 chris.edwards@murrayky.gov
Reta Gray Administrative Assistant 270-762-0350 ext. 1132 reta.gray@murrayky.gov
Summer Grogan Planning Assistant 270-762-0350 ext. 1130 summer.grogan@murrayky.gov
Robert Jeffries Planner l 270-762-0350 ext. 127 robert.jeffries@murrayky.gov
Chris Lamm GIS Manager 270-762-0350 ext. 1125 chris.lamm@murrayky.gov
Keith Miller Building Official 270-762-0350 ext. 1135 keith.miller@murrayky.gov
James Oakley Stormwater/Drainage Supervisor 270-762-0350 ext. 1133 james.oakley@murrayky.gov
David Roberts Director of Planning/Engineering 270-762-0350 ext. 1129 david.roberts@murrayky.gov
Justin Smith Stormwater/Drainage Technician 270-762-0350 ext. 1121 justin.smith@murrayky.gov